left bar
Sign Up
for our
E-news-
letter!



Email Marketing by VerticalResponse

Masthead

National Hunger & Homeless Awareness Week Events in California

Look for events in other states
Find more information on H&H Week

Register your H&H Week event here
Read the H&H Manual

Davis

Davis Community Meals
Event: The Davis Community has as on-going meals program for the homeless three times a week. During National Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week, the meals will be served on Tuesday, Nov 19th at 5:45 PM; Thursday, Nov 21st at 5:45 PM; and Saturday, Nov 23rd at 11:45 AM. The meals are free, and all are welcome to attend.

Contact: Karena Schmitendorf • (530) 902-4334 • kschmitendorf@gmail.com


Fullerton

CSUF Volunteer and Service Center
Event: TBD

Contact: Kim Hamon • (657) 278-3504 • khamon@fullerton.edu


Goleta

Dos Pueblos High School
Event: Dos Pueblos High School will have weekly bulletins for the whole month of November on our news program, with awareness facts about hunger. They will also host a canned food drive.

Contact: Bela Lafferty • (805) 201-8599 • belano1lafferty@gmail.com


Hayward

Task Force to End Hunger and Homelessness in Hayward
Event: The Task Force to End Hunger and Homelessness in Hayward will hold a Book to Action Event to build on the lessons learned from “Tattoos on the Heart” and the work of the Task Force, with concrete action steps to address hunger and homelessness in the Hayward area.

Contact: Sara Lamnin • (510) 432-7703 • southhaywardparish@gmail.com


Los Angeles

The Midnight Mission
Event: On November 16th, the Midnight Mission will host a Night Without Shelter. Local high school and college youth will spend the night on skid row’s Midnight Mission to experience firsthand the devastating effects of homelessness.

Contact: Nicole Peters • (213) 553-2328 • npeters@midnightmission.org


Peace Center, SC Homelessness Initiative

Event: The Peace Center, SC Homelessness Initiative will hold a variety of events:
• November 16th: Veterans’ services fair
• November 17th: Interfaith prayers to end hunger and homelessness
• November 18th, 19th, and 22nd: Food distributions
• November 20th: Information session about responsible volunteering
• November 21st: Performance by homeless and formerly homeless actors' troupe
• November 23rd: United Way HomeWalk and Skid Row tour
• November 24th: Hygiene kit distribution

Contact: Vivian Yan • (714) 400-4957 • vivian.yan@usc.edu


Novato

Homeward Bound of Marin
Event: Homeward Bound of Marin is the primary provider of shelter and services to homeless families and adults in Marin County, CA. Their annual community fundraiser, Dine Out to End Hunger, will occur on Thursday, November 21st, and will involve nine local restaurants that will donate 20-percent of dinner proceeds to support Homeward Bound of Marin’s programs.

Contact: Maura Thurman • (415) 382-3363 x213 • mthurman@hbofm.org


San Bernardino

Young Visionaries Youth Leadership Academy
Event: They plan to give out 500 food and turkey baskets to hungry and homeless families at Visionary Homes for their Homeless and Runaway Youth Shelter for Thanksgiving.

Contact: Terrance Stone • (909) 222-0096 • tstone@yvyla-ie.org



National Coalition for the Homeless
2201 P Street NW
Washington, DC 20037-1033
202-462-4822
info@nationalhomeless.org

Privacy Policy
Page last modified: November 1, 2013

green web hosting